Cozumel MAYANS
"Smokey Joe Wood's Old Team"
Established 2006

Stadium: Taco Bell Mexiplex
Model: Skydome
Climate: Tampa, FL
Colors: Red, Black, Gold

- Home
- Road
- Special

Owner: Charlie Sieb
Manager: Ricardo Montalban

Minor League Affiliates:
- Puerta Vallarta Tequila Worms (AAA)
- Cancun Guacamole Kings (LOW)

Cozumel Mayans Franchise Timeline

April 7, 1997: First game in franchise history.

January 1, 1998: The London Knights are renamed the Substitutes. Don't ask us.

November 4, 1999: Smokey Joe Wood wins his first of 14 Cy Young Awards in his amazing career. Between 1999 and 2015 he will miss out on the award only three times (2001, 2003 and 2007). He will win a total of eleven Inferno League Cy Young Awards with this franchise, and will finish his career with three more over in the Blizzard League.

November 1, 2000: Silver Hawkes is named Rookie of the Year in the Inferno League.

January 1, 2004: After spending seven seasons in London, the Substittues are moved to Egypt and renamed the Luxor Kings.

January 1, 2005: Attendance is poor in Luxor. Market research reveals that most people think the Luxor Kings play at that big pyramid in Las Vegas. Team packs it's bags and heads to Scotland, they're renamed the Edinburgh Highlanders.

April 4 , 2005: Smokey Joe Wood throws a perfect game against the Berlin Brewmasters.

January 1, 2006: Deciding that it's too damn cold and dreary in Scotland, management once again relocates the franchise. They move the team to sunny Mexico and rename them the Cozumel Mayans.

2008 Playoffs: The Mayans win their first Lockwood Division title, beginning a run of five straight postseason appearances. In Game 3 of the ILCS, Smokey Joe Wood throws a perfect game against the Amity White Sharks. They defeat Amity in five games, but are eventually defeated by the Rio de Janerio Capybaras in the Weaver Series 4 games to 1.

November 5, 2008: Kevin Carbone wins the Inferno League Rookie of the Year Award.

2009 Playoffs: Cozumel wins the Lockwood Division again, but the Mayans lose to Amity in the ILCS 4 games to 2.

November 4, 2009: Nestor Eugino is awarded the Inferno League Rookie of the Year Award.

2010 Playoffs: Cozumel wins it's first Weaver Series! They defeat the Belfast Bombers in seven games.

2011 Playoffs: The Mayans win another Inferno League Championship, but are defeated by the Long Beach Lobsters in the Weaver Series 4 games to 2.

2012 Playoffs: Cozumel makes their fourth Weaver Series appearance in five years. They face Havana, but the Cigars win the series in five games.

November 4, 2020: Joe Vidal is named Inferno League Rookie of the Year.